Oh! The eats I’ve had!

13 Jun

Um, can I say BUSY? Yes, busy, that’s been me. The last week was chucked full of grading and writing and grading some more! But luckily, this weekend was low key and I got to do some fun cooking! Here’s what I’ve been eating the last couple of days….

Who could pass up the yummy avocados lately, they are so in season right now! Not me that’s for sure!

Dinner is served!

set the table

One of the best ways to make a meal is to skewer it!

Teriyaki marinade:

1 tbs minced ginger
1 tbs minced garlic
1/2 cup tamari sauce
2 tbs sesame seed oil
2-3 tbs molasses (depending on how sweet you like it)

The burnt looking things in the above picture are sweet potatoes...my hubby put butter on them while they were grilling and they got a little “done” but we just peeled off the black skin and they were yummy and delicious inside!

Today I got adventurous and tried out some meals I’ve never made before….

Stuffed mushrooms with avocado anyone?
prebake

plated mushroom "stuffed" with avocado!


These were SUPER easy to make and look really fancy ๐Ÿ˜‰ Oh and they tasted wonderful as well!

Stuffed Chicken Breast with Prosciutto…..mmmmm.

Tomato Stuffed Chicken Breast with Prosciutto

I learned a new cooking technique today, “pounding chicken“! Wow, I’d never known you could do such a thing! I even got my own trusty meat mallet today just for the job! I’m not going to lie, it felt a little creepy beating the crap out of a chicken breast but hey, maybe this dinner can be my new therapy? When angry make stuffed chicken! Haha! Or not…..

I didn’t really have a recipe for the “stuffing” so I just kinda thought about what I thought would taste good, I decided on chopped fresh basil, mushrooms, minced garlic, salt and pepper, olive oil and mozzarella cheese! I’m pretty sure we have a winner here!

And last but not least…dessert. Can I just say I โค berries and home-made whipped cream?

berry crazy

Me in the kitchen…dinner almost done….

cook in the kitchen

Okay, okay, I was trying to give a thumbs up and look excited…pretty much failed at both. Instead I look slightly suspicious…of what? I don’t know….But just imagine the excitement inside and the thumb in the oversized mittย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

. . . . .

What is the best meal you’ve eaten this week?

Do you ever use cooking as a therapy session?

2 Responses to “Oh! The eats I’ve had!”

  1. Erika June 14, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    These look amazing! I want to eat dinner at your house instead of mine ๐Ÿ˜‰ The avocado stuffed mushrooms, oh my!

  2. Bekah June 14, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    Oooooooooooh it all looks so good! I’m definitely trying to avacado stuffed mushroom caps! NOM NOM NOM!

    We got beets in our last veggie box and I had no idea what to do with them, but I tried cooking them today…honestly I think this is the first time I ever even ATE a beet. I didn’t do anything fancy, just boiled them with some potatoes and then squeezed fresh oj and some apple cider vinegar onto them and they actually tasted pretty good! Now I’ll have to try and get more creative ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

