Gallery

“equipment” for bodyrock workouts

11 Jan

What do you do when you don’t have the right exercise equipment to do a bodyrock workout (or any workout for that matter)? While most of Zuzana’s workouts are body weight exercises, she does mix it up a bit using a few basic pieces of equipment. Below are some suggested substitutes until you can get a hold of the real thing.

Interval Timer

A lot of Zuzana’s workouts are interval based which means you have to have an interval timer in order to do them properly. The interval timer she suggests is Gym Boss. I have one and love it but it also cost 20 bucks….that’s a lot of money. So before you shell out the dough you can use these two handy online interval timers I found:

http://www.beach-fitness.com/tabata/

http://www.speedbagforum.com/timer.html

Play around with them a bit, they seem pretty simple.

Dip Bar and Sandbag

The other two pieces of equipment she uses are a dip bar and a sandbag. I just ordered my dip bar (yay!), I’ve been saving up the money for a while now. But, until I get it I use an assortment of different household items to substitute for the dip bar depending on the exercise being preformed. For exercises like the seated pull-up and reverse push-up I find I can use a table to substitute for the dip bar. I just sit under the table, grasp the edges, your arms should be about shoulder width apart (otherwise, find a smaller table!) and then get into the desired exercise position and go! Works pretty well for me. These are just a couple ideas but you can get creative. Look around your house for items you might be able to use. Otherwise, just substitute a different exercise into the workout, I’ve done this on a number of occasions as well.

As for the sandbag, I made my own. It is still a work in progress but eventually I’ll have one with real sand in it. Right now I just have a duffle bag with a pillow and some free weights in it. Works pretty good. Otherwise I use free weights instead of the sandbag when I can. You can also find a lot of DIY sandbags online.

Those are just some ideas. Comment and share your own ideas, the more the better!

(Photo credit: Crystal Mcrenyolds from CrossFit Central Top 10 finisher at the 2009 CrossFit Games, photo from Facebook group)

3 Responses to ““equipment” for bodyrock workouts”

  1. stoffainkorea January 12, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Thanks for linking to my DIY sandbag post . BTW, the sandbag featured in that post works great. I’ve had no problems and have been using it consistently for the last 10 months. Cheers and thanks again.

  2. Jenny January 13, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    no problem! Thanks for the update about the sandbag!

  3. Beach-Fitness March 6, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    Hi jenny, thanks a lot for posting a link to our interval timer!

    Many body rockers have been using it who want to save some money and are working out in the comfort of their living room.

    Keep the posts coming.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

