food and exercise goal reflection

26 Jan

It’s almost the end of January!!!

I’ve been pretty good about exercising everyday. One of the ways I find that helps a lot is making my goal to motivate Abe to exercise…for some reason getting myself to exercise is much easier if I have to motivate him to do it too. So on that level, doing pretty good! I can tell just this month I’m getting stronger.

The most important muscle we can work is our consistance muscle. Bekah and I talked about this just the other day. How setting little goals that are totally achievable is better than setting bigger goals and only meeting them sometimes. For example, it would be better to set a goal to workout everyday by going to the gym, etc. But then, set a “minimum” goal such as, I have to do at LEAST 10 girly push ups, or 10 squats a day. And you need to recognize this as a legitimate goal. Not say to yourself, yeah this is my minimum but I SHOULD do more, blah blah blah, cause then it isn’t a real goal. Setting doable “minimum” goals allows you to build that important consistance muscle. When you are crawling into bed and you’re like, “shit, I didn’t workout again today”….or when you get home from school or work and you are exhausted and feel like shit, you know you can do your minimum for the day. You can do 10 push ups in less than a minute. And THAT, that consistance is more important than three 1 hour workouts at the gym a week. Why? Because meeting a minimum is building that habit into your brain that exercise is important and part of your EVERYDAY life, not just something that happens when you feel like it or on special occasions.

I think for the month of Febuary we should make the challenge to work on goal setting. February will be about learning the best way to set goals for YOU.

Anyway. Foodwise I’ve cleaned some things up in my diet this month. I have IBS which can be very debilitating at times. Last summer I often had to leave work early because I was so sick. I also had issues with depression (common with IBS) and other wonderful issues. Well, since I started eating a more traditional/paleo diet and focusing on reculturing my gut, most of my symptoms have gone away. I had an “episode” this month though and I was instantly horrible depressed. When I have problems I feel very helpless and down because I can’t always figure out why I have symptoms sometimes and not others. usually when I have an episode it lasts at least a week. This time I decided to try eliminating dairy from my diet because I’d not tried that before. I don’t eat a lot of dairy but I had been having a latte almost everyday the week before I started having problems. Plus I was eating heavy cream and other yummy dairy products. So, I stopped the dairy and BANG! my symptoms were gone the next day. It was amazing!!! I waited a few days to see if it was for real or just my imagination, but so far so good, still symptom free! This is sad though, it means I need to be much more careful with dairy than I thought I needed too. But hey, it’s worth it to feel good.

Leave a Reply

