fried eggplant

25 Mar

gluten free fried eggplant

 

I can’t really take credit for this recipe, I found it here. (Definitely check out their blog, I’ve found some tasty ideas over there!)  This is now one of both Abe and my favorite appetizers. Seeing I don’t eat gluten, or many grains for that matter, it is hard to find good alternatives to deep fried goodness.

Recipe

  • 1 medium eggplant
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil or lard (I like coconut the best)
  • Salt
  • Paleo Breadcrumbs (see recipe below)

Directions: In a bowl, beat eggs. Slice eggplant 1/8 inch thick. In a skillet (cast-iron if you have one) melt oil over medium high heat. Once oil is hot, dip eggplant pieces in egg, getting them thoroughly coated and then drop them in the breadcrumbs. Make sure they are well dusted. Place breaded eggplant in hot oil. I can usually fit four to five round pieces of eggplant in at a time. Fry on each side until golden brown. Serve with a side of mustard, horseradish and ketchup.

Paleo Breadcrumbs Recipe

  • 1 cup Almond Flour or Coconut flour (I usually use Coconut flour)
  • 1 cup finely grated Pecorino Cheese (Parmesan works great too!)
  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 2 tablespoons dried Thyme
  • 2 teaspoons dried Oregano
  • 2 teaspoons dried Rosemary
  • 3 tablespoons dried Parsley Flakes
  • 1/2 tablespoon Sea Salt

Direction: Mix all ingredients thoroughly in a bowl.

Leave a comment